Losing My Pen and Other Strange Stories

Fiji 2012 288
Fiji 2012

 

I am losing things. For the first time in my life I am losing things. A few weeks ago I lost a texta I used at work. It almost certainly fell out of my pocket while I was leaning over and I didn’t notice but it perturbed me nonetheless. I never lose things. And, I had to steal another one off a machine we work on. Can’t do without my texta. But I never lose things.

Yesterday I lost my pen. It was in my shirt pocket and disappeared as assuredly as it would if it was sailing through the Bermuda Triangle. (Not that pens can actually sail through or disappear in the Bermuda Triangle, but you get my drift I’m sure.) I have no idea where it went or how. I thought I may have actually forgotten to take it to work but it wasn’t here when I got home and I haven’t been able to find it today. I never lose things.

Then there was my box of cotton buds. In the bottom right hand draw of the bathroom vanity. It’s gone. It’s been there for months (actually years!) and suddenly it’s gone. How will I get my ears clean now? (Yes, I know you shouldn’t stick things in your ears but I am very gentle I assure you. My hearing is still okay, I think.) It’s very disconcerting. I never lose things.

Of course the fact that there are other people living in the house may have contributed to the sudden absence of my box of cotton buds but Linda assures me she hasn’t seen it, touched it or otherwise been in contact with it. Hmmm. It may be that all of her stuff which is packed tightly into the vanity draws is obscuring my view of it but I don’t think so. I never lose things.

Walking to my car last night after knocking off work I found myself wandering around the car park in circles. For a brief moment I thought I had lost my car. I never lose things! Of course I hadn’t lost my car. I had just parked in a different place than usual and eventually I found it. I never lose things but see how paranoid I am becoming?!

A few years back I went through a period of leaving things in cafes. I would be out shopping, stop off for a coffee with my newly bought wares, then leave them behind. It’s lucky that on each occasion the items were recovered because I never lose things.

I was driving to Wagga Wagga one day a few years back and stopping in Gundagai for refreshment I took my sunglasses off and lay them on the cafe table. They were expensive. My mother had bought them for me. I was halfway to Wagga Wagga from Gundagai before I realised the reason the glare off the sunbaked farmland was killing my eyes. I had left my sunglasses behind. I didn’t go back for them. I never lose things.

I trained myself out of that habit. The habit of leaving things behind. But losing things is another matter altogether. It just doesn’t happen to me and it’s a worry. I never lose things.

There is no history of dementia in our family but I have wondered if I will be the first to start a trend.  But then a friend once told me losing your car in the car park is not a sign of Alzheimer’s Disease. Forgetting you have a car is! Perhaps I am just going through a bad patch where I don’t seem to be able to hang onto my property?

I can only hope this trend will soon dissipate and I will return to normal…safe, reliable… my property always intact and where it should be because…I never lose things!

Have a nice day.

Leave a Reply

